On Tuesday we finished out the class with a extensive flickr gallery comparing suspiciously similar graphic design pieces. Some were contained obvious plagiarism, while others stood as a noble homage. To further this conversation I found this a similar posting by designer Jacob Cass titled Graphic Design Rips Offs or Inspiration? Though his list isn’t nearly as long, it does demonstrate some interesting comparisons. Copyright infringement won’t be going away anytime soon. I touched upon the rise of Creative Commons and the copy left movement in blogs past, so I won’t dote much on that tonight. I also mentioned how Walt Disney could be considered one of the original remix artists with his borrowing to create Steamboat Willie. I found these images at Cass’s blog; looks like old Walt was so good at remixing that he soon sampled from his own catalog. Copy, Paste, Disney.


